More and more people are using mobile phones and the internet to communicate. Therefore, people are losing their ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The proliferation of mobile phones and internet usage for communication enables individuals to connect across vast distances, regardless of geographical barriers. Although I agree that those have an effect towards the communication behaviour of the people, I disagree with people that communicating face-to-face will be decreased. Regarding this, real-live communication would still be preferred, especially for older generations. They mostly could not comprehend and adapt to the latest technology, hence the lack of comprehension would resulting them not being able to utilise online platforms and social media. For instance, most of the phone users in rural areas in Indonesia are teenagers until adults, while the elderly have an old phone without internet connection support. Instead of talking online, they usually held community gatherings every weekend in their neighbourhood as a form of connectedness and an increasing sense of belonging in the community. Not only that, online communication cannot substitute what in-person interaction could offer. Although the former is more convenient and definitely less time-consuming, interacting without any medium can psychologically reduce loneliness and increase social skills and capabilities. This form of communication is also preferred and suggested by clinical psychologists since it has a considerably huge impact compared to the digital platform, like Zoom and Google Meet. Feeling physically close with other people would bring positive experiences, hence person-in-person meetings definitely bring positive effects for the individuals. In conclusion, although the mobile phone and internet caused a rapid change in how people communicate, in-person communication would still be preferable by most people for two reasons I have stated above.