Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the types of relationships that people make? Has this been a positive or negative development?

Technology has become increasingly advanced in recent years. People tend to contact each other through technology to form various types of new relationships. Personally, I believe it has been a both positive and negative practice for several reasons. The development of technology creates more opportunities for people to take part in revolutionized relationships. For instance, the invention of the telephone and social media leads to significant impacts on relationships in both education and business. Telephone conversations make the transmission of information between employees in a firm more efficient which results in an increased number of workers getting rely on conversations through phones and other platforms in order to reach higher productivity. At the same time, live video communication makes online meetings and courses available for the public, which means that workers and students can attend collective events through the Internet conveniently. Advanced technology contributes convenience to different groups in modern society. However, technology sometimes discourages people from developing relationships in real life. Younger generations may rely on the internet too heavily which isolates them to ignore the value of real interactions with others. They are becoming less interested in developing friendships or romances with people in reality and they prefer to develop these relationships over social media which are recognized as poor substitutes for factual relationships. This significantly makes society show less coherence between each community and the frequency of crimes over the social platforms is increased inevitably. In conclusion, technology tends to make people ’s communication comfortable and convenient, but the potential problem arises when the public drowns in those virtual relationships and isolates themselves from the real world.