Some people see sport as no more than a leisure activity, others, however, believe that it is important for society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are contradictory views about whether sports have their contributions to the society or they are forms of entertainments. Both schools of thought will be discussed, followed by my own opinions. Those who argue that sports benefit the society may have following reasons. For one thing, our habit of exercising regularly can indirectly reduce governments’ expenditure on medical services. For instance, it is Beijingers’ every increasing time spent on physical activities that has improved their health, which has reduced the government’s spending on health care. For another, sports events can catalyse an area’s economy. This is because international competitions such as the World Cup always lure millions of visitors to the host city, stimulating demand in not only sports fields but also in the hospitality industry. This development will eventually drive the economic growth. However, opponents think sports are only recreational activities. From an emotional perspective, physical activities make us feel relaxed and optimistic. For example, if we exercise after a busy day, our stress and pressure can be alleviated, positive emotions such as pleasure can be triggered. This will unwind and refresh our minds. From a social welling perspective, participating in team sports provides us a chance to socialise with friends or enjoy family time (b),cultivating bonded and close relationships. Consequently, we will feel belonged and connected in this hectic and demanding world. As discussed above, since both two arguments are reasonable and backed up with relevant examples, I believe that sports have their values for both individuals and the society.