Some believe that nuclear weapons benefit the world at large. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been many years since the first nuclear weapon was created and people still debate about its actual use. There is a popular view that nuclear weapons actually benefit the world in general, but I find it difficult to agree with given the potential danger of such a weapon, both in political and environmental contexts, especially in the contemporary era. First of all, only several countries around the world have atomic bombs and the whole conversation around the fairness of having this weapon is irrational. Smaller countries cannot afford such weapons of mass destruction and this factor automatically makes them less powerful in the eyes of superpowers, and some other countries that have these weapons, such as North Korea. This inequality creates a world where many nations cannot openly voice their opinions because of fear, and this, in my view, is not fair in terms of achieving a political balance in this highly integrated world we are living in now. Secondly, if a nuclear weapon is used anytime soon, its damage to the ecosystems of the world could be unprecedented and the horrors of the 1945 Hiroshima and Nagasaki bombings could be overshadowed by a more powerful weapon in a seemingly more peaceful world of the 21st century. Nuclear weapons destroy targeted areas fully without consideration for protecting flora and fauna. Also, bombed areas suffer from high radiation exposure for many years and could become infertile for many decades. Thus, considering the lack of justice in political terms and potential environmental disasters, I believe nuclear weapons only make this world worse. They must not be supported and invested in.