Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time to studying for a qualification. Discuss both views and give opinion.

Many undergraduate prefer offering extra courses alongside their major course, as this helps to broaden their intelligence. While some believe focusing on their major certification areas is paramount. In this essay, both sides will be explored followed by my opinion. On the one hand, many students think extra lessons are necessary to help broaden their intelligence and improve their skills in diverse areas. So, undergraduates are not limited to their qualifications only but they also, know a thing or two about different subjects. Furthermore, this additional information can be useful outside of school, to enable them to get a job or become entrepreneurs. Because, especially in developing countries where jobs are hard to get, these skills and knowledge are very important to earn a living. For example, according to statistics, in Ghana, only 23% of graduates work in organizations related to their qualifications. The rest are entrepreneurs and few work in jobs different from what they studied. On the other hand, many scholars believe extra subjects are not needed as they can be distracting and time-consuming. These subjects are capable of diverting scholar's attention from their major subject. As a result, this can lead to poor educational qualifications. In addition, learning more subjects requires time which is often not enough for the student to focus on their major course. For instance, students who study medicine usually complain of having a lot of studying to do with less time. Adding, more classwork will eventually lead to poor grades. In conclusion, although to some students, extra lessons are needed to improve their knowledge. Others think it is unnecessary. In my opinion, it is cumbersome for a student to add more courses to an existing primary subject. This, can result in, a loss of focus and poor grade qualification.