In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is considered very important what are the causes of this? Is this a positive or negative development?

In many countries, people prefer to buy a house rather than renting. I believe that owning a property is a sign of positive development for most countries and people feel more secure to work their whole life for something that lasts through time. First, when Banks grant loans, ideally with low rates, for future buyers to invest in their own property, it means that the country is wealthy and economically safe. Then, owning a home is often a goal for most households in their lives which reassures them for the future. For instance, when landowners retire, no matter how much is their pension,they will always keep their house. Therefore, people work their whole lives to pay a mortgage and think it is worth it because ownership allows people to create patrimony and can pass it on to their children, which is crucial for families as well. For example, when parents pass away, children inherit their belongings which can have a sentimental value. In opposition, some people are more keen on renting because of personal or professional reasons; Indeed, they prefer to rent a short-term let or a furnished home in order to be able to move several times in a short period. As an aside, when couples become parents, they need more room for welcoming their newborn and it is easier to move for a bigger home when they are tenants. In conclusion, I think that owning a property is essential in life to ensure the future. I do agree that this is a sign of good development to count more owners than tenants in a country because it makes their destiny safer.