Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

At present, although the concept of recycling is important, there are still many families who lack it and do it incorrectly. Hence, some people believe the authorities should implement rules to boost recycling. I agree with that, and in this essay, I will offer my opinion with examples in the following paragraphs. First and foremost, I think making regulations can be useful because of its punishment system. That is to say, people will comply if they face fines for littering and not recycling. In addition, government policy is always associated with legal blinding, as a result, individuals will put more effort into conducting recycling certainly rather than unfollowing it. For instance, in Taiwan, people cannot put recycled things and trash together when they dump the garbage or the garbage truck can refuse to take it owing to the government policy. Therefore, everyone will separate recycled objects from general waste. However, it is not always the case that every family will obey the rules because it is hard to control thoroughly. Take some remote areas as an example, there would be few resources or enforcement officers which may contribute to a lack of management, leading to the outcome of laws being useless. Moreover, if people do not have awareness of taking it initiative and considering it is important, the strict rules are still not helpful and just be a piece of paper. Despite there being still some factors that laws cannot work well, making a specific policy by the authority can help increase the thinking of environment friendly. In conclusion, considering everything, I would say establishing the policy on recycling outweighs without it. I think most families, who are not familiar with recycling or not taking it seriously, will change the way of discarding waste to more eco-friendly ways through the firm rules.