Some people think that (all) countries should produce foods their population eats and import less food as much as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One school of thought holds that nations should try to become food -independent. While acknowledging the reason for this thinking, I would argue that it is impractical in many parts of the world. On the one hand, it is understandable why certain individuals advocate that countries should strive for food autonomy and reduce their dependence on food imports. The key rationale is that improving domestic food production can lead to employment opportunities, thereby curbing unemployment. This can be seen in Vietnam, where an emphasis on agricultural development has ensured year-round production, creating thousands of jobs for the local residents and preventing jobless periods. In addition to this, minimizing food imports can aid in environmental protection. This is because it can lead to reduced food miles, which would be synonymous with lower levels of carbon dioxide emitted from food transportation. On the other hand, I am convinced that solely depending on domestic food production is far from a realistic goal for every country. To be more specific, weather conditions in many regions are simply not compatible with developing agricultural practices. Japan is a case in point. Its infertile soil, coupled with hostile climates, severely limits its agricultural capacity, making self-sufficiency a hardly attainable goal. By the same token, in light of unprecedented flooding crises and devastating droughts, it would be virtually impossible for South Sudan to produce enough food for its citizenry. For such countries, avoiding food imports could actually be tantamount to causing national food shortages. In conclusion, while there are justifications for supporting the policy of food self-reliance, I would contend that it is not a feasible option for all countries. Particularly in regions where natural conditions are unfavourable for agriculture, importing foods remains an indispensable means to ensure national food security.