Many of the world’s cities are currently facing a serious housing shortage. What are some of the reasons for this shortage, and what solutions can you suggest? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

All over the world, big cities are facing the issue of housing accommodation for their growing populations. Firstly I will discuss the main origins of the present problem, focusing on rural-to-urban migration and overpopulation. It will then explore viable solutions, including developing rural infrastructure to reduce migration and implementing population control measures to manage growth. Looking at the details, there are various reasons for the housing shortage in megacities. One of the major causes is the relocation of the inhabitants from the countryside. Many villages don't have adequate facilities or work opportunities compared to modern cities. This means that, in order to have a more convenient lifestyle and better job prospects, people tend to move to larger towns, causing these regions to expand. Furthermore, rapid population increases in urban areas due to rural-urban migration and natural population extension contribute to the problem. For example, the younger generation often aims to live independently without parental supervision and tends to buy homes of their own. One practical approach to the above-mentioned issue is to improve infrastructure and provide better civilian facilities in rural areas. As a consequence, individuals will be motivated to work in their hometowns while enjoying the benefits of living closer to nature. Moreover, the dilemma of housing shortages can be mitigated through strict regulations and limits set by authorities. Japan and China are examples where the growth rate has decreased because of strict government rules. To sum up, the decrease in residential space in metropolitan cities is mainly due to urbanization and rapid residents increase. The aforementioned issue can be alleviated through birth control measures and the development of rural area