Many people around the world use social media evryeday to keep in touch with other people and get news events. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

In the digital era, it is argued that social media brings advantages to people because the convenience in communicating and reading news. The writer believes that despite many benefits, drawbacks of social media overshadow and this essay aims to explain it. The most important positive effect of social media is enhancing communication on the ground that it takes only seconds or minutes to send and receive a message. Compared to former centuries when letters frequently got lost, social media make maintaining relationships more easily thanks to video calls or messages. Moreover, social media is a huge source of news and people can keep up with the latest information at anywhere and anytime. For instance, some newspaper publisher now had uploaded news on Facebook pages or other online apps for readers to pursue. On the contrary, many people debate that social media is the main cause of an insular society and other social problems. Due to the fact that everyone can become a writer on social media sites, there is an increasing amount of fake news, so it is harder for reader authenticate which are facts. A persuasive example is the fake news about laws that manage the Internet in Vietnam makes some citizens arose against the authority. Additionally, social media is increasingly used for trading, leading to the reality that people spend too much time on shopping and their hobbies. Despite memorable events of our relatives still can be seen and people can comment or chat, however, distraction from advertisements or favorable stars prevent them from contacting with relationships. In brief, the increasing tendency of using social media brings more disadvantages than advantages. In spite of improvement in communication and the public’s awereness of news, it is evident that human cannot rely too much on this technology as it causes many misunderstanding and social issues.