In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today's era, more and more people who live in the countryside are moving to the city, leading to the consequence of decreasing population in the rural areas. Personally, this writer believes that it is a positive development as it can help people to improve their lives. It must be acknowledged that when people move from the countryside to the city, they can have a better life. This is because there are a variety of well-paid jobs in the city. Therefore, people can have money to buy houses, save or send money to parents or save for future investments. Besides that, there are a lot of high-quality infrastructures and amenities in the city like schools, gyms or banks which the countryside does not have. As a result, when the quality of life is enhanced, they can take care of their family, children can go to school and there will be no homeless people on the street. For example, when a person who lives in a poor family moves to the city, that person can find a job and send money to their family. However, a large number of people moving to the city can lead to serious problems. Clearly, it can make job recruitment harder. This is because many jobs in the city have skills and not all community can adapt. Therefore, the employer has to distinguish talented individuals and there will be fewer opportunities for the other. For example, when a lot of people want to work for a private company, they will have to have a bright CV to compete with other candidates. Hence, this situation will make the working environment become more competitive. In conclusion, moving from the rural area to the city for a career is beneficial as people can find a better office, but it can lead to the serious problem of a competitive environment. However, this writer believes that the benefits of moving to live in the city can outweigh its drawbacks.