Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a 'gap year', before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others, this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether youngsters should experience travelling for a year before going to the work environment or starting university. While some people argue that this is a great opportunity for young individuals to taste new things, others find it only a waste of time. Although I have some sympathy with the latter view, I believe that a gap year could be highly rewarding in total. Having a gap year positively affects the students only the year before their work or study, often opening a window to their world. They would be able to build and develop new relationships and make new friends with different beliefs and thoughts. Similarly, they can use their new friends' experiences to choose the best option for their career or study. For example, for those who have studied science in high school, majors like psychology and art might be unfamiliar. As a result, spending time with society members studying or those who graduated from different fields can make them meet their hidden interests buried deeply in their subconscious. Moreover, it will get more complicated and challenging to change your career as you get older. So, it is recommended to give it your best shot in your youth. For many people, students should begin to work or continue their grades as soon as their university is finished because it is a waste of time and money. It might seem that a gap year without earning money is detrimental, only spending money on a resort. However, gaining new experiences and, therefore, choosing the best option for future job would far compensate for this period. In addition, some may spend part of their time in resorts, but many do voluntary work and widen their network, helping them pursue jobs that could fit their character and leading them to approach their dream jobs. In conclusion, the concerns of those individuals about the negatives of taking a trip as a gap year before work are understandable, but ultimately, I side with people who see this as a merit and a huge chance.