Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. Others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A group of people present the view that the extinction of special types of plants and animals is the most important environmental issue in our era. However, others believe that there are other factors which play a key role in environmental problems. I strongly agree with the latter opinion and my reasons will be presented in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, some people reasonably argue that global warming causes major problems for the environment. Global warming is one of the biggest problems nowadays. It can be a serious threat to wildlife habitats and may destroy them. For example, Canada has experienced a wildfire due to the increase in temperatures. As a result of this, various plants and animals have been destroyed. Furthermore, air pollution is another environmental issue that affects human life these days. In many developing countries, citizens suffer from health problems due to poor air quality. On the other hand, another group of people claim that the most significant environmental problem is associated with the extinction of particular species of plants and animals. They insist that if governments tackle this, we will resolve the primary environmental issue. Nonetheless, I do not find this argument convincing as there are a wide variety of factors that can cause irreversible damage to the environment. For instance, water contamination, the widespread use of fossil fuels and the generation of a considerable amount of waste impose serious threats to the environment. In conclusion, in my view, there are numerous environmental issues other than the loss of fauna and flora. The rise in global temperatures and air pollution have detrimental effects on the environment. Moreover, the contamination of water, using fossil fuels and the production of waste bring about critical problems for the environment worldwide.