Some people use social media to keep in touch with other people and news events. Do you think advantages of this technology outweigh the disadvantages?

Social media is used by people to maintain connections with each other and learn about news. Although social media can be harmful for people, it is a resource of rapid information and a tool for communication with those, who are far away, outweighs the drawbacks. To begin with, it is crucial to consider the potential drawbacks of social media. One significant concern is the impact on mental well-being. Extensive use of social media has been linked to increased levels of anxiety, depression, and feelings of social isolation. The constant exposure to carefully curated highlights and reels of others' lives can lead to self-comparison and feelings of inadequacy. Privacy and security concerns are another set of drawbacks associated with social media. Users often share personal information and details of their lives, making them susceptible to privacy breaches and identity theft. However, there are a plethora of advantages of technology. Firstly, people can share information in a short time period as well as over long distances. To explain it more, in the modern era, if a person lives in a foreign country, family members o friends can talk with them through various apps such as Facebook, Whatsapp, Instagram, and Gmail. For instance, 80% of students use applications for different futures like video calls, and voice call because it is the cheapest way, or if they choose calling then they want to pay a big amount of money for roaming. As a result, students can save a lot of money by doing that, and utilize it on monthly expenses. In conclusion, although social networks have detrimental effect on health, they provide news quickly and help to build up relationships. Therefore, I think that there are more advantages than disadvantages to use social media for keeping in touch with people and news of the world.