In today's world many people own a smartphone. Do you think the advantage o owning a smartphone outweight the disadvantage?

Mobile phones are increasingly essential for people's regular life so it is understandable that many citizens own a mobile phone. This writer argues that the benefits of helping people to connect to each other and entertainment outweigh the drawbacks of addiction. The most beneficial factor of using a smartphone is residents can contact with each other in just a few seconds. No matter how far they are from their loved ones, they can still be able to communicate and share their thoughts. For example, in 2020, citizens in many countries had to stay at home due to the outbreak of Covid-19. With the help of digital devices like smartphones, people can talk to their friends and family, share their stories and comfort everyone going through the pandemic. One advantage of owning a mobile phone is entertainment. These devices can connect to the Internet and offer users a wide range of entertainment including games, movies, comics and music. This will help users relieve their stress and anxiety from their work and study. For instance, in the USA, teenagers tend to play games and watch movies with their phones. This helps them relax and comfort themselves, especially when they do not have friends or their parents are not home. However, some people say addiction is the biggest disadvantage of mobile phones. Children and teenagers spend hours using their phones, refuse to go outside their houses and neglect their schoolwork. This may be true, but by starting a new hobby and helping them connect with their friends, they will eventually quit playing games and hang out with their friends more. Furthermore, mobile phones can help children learn better by accessing online textbooks and resources. In conclusion, the possible impact of children being addicted to their phones is outweighed by entertainment and the ability to connect people. Hence, smartphones can help learners improve their performance through online resources.