Do you agree that supermarkets are a threat to small shops and local communities?

The fact is that there have been more supermarkets established not only in megacities but also in small towns. That is supposed to pose a threat to small stores and local communities. From my perspective, I am entirely convinced because of some reasons mentioned in this essay. First and foremost, they often offer lower prices compared to stores since they import goods in bulk. That is the main reason why many people prefer to shop in supermarkets to local shops. Moreover, there is a wide range of products so consumers can buy groceries, household items and electronics without visiting too many local shops which only sell some particular items. In addition, they bring convenience and accessibility. The reason is that they are set up in large premises and often equipped with ample parking spaces. As a result, their customers do not have to worry about finding a room to park their vehicles, especially in off-peaked times. In terms of the possibility to approach local people, they have large budgets for advertising and marketing so their products are usually promoted on different channels such as TV, radio and online platforms. Hence, they attract more potential customers than traditional stores. Lastly, supermarket managers frequently run programmes for promotions and discounts, thanking loyal customers to get much attention from potential and existing customers, especially housewives. These aim to encourage them to purchase more for each shopping time. In conclusion, the supermarket establishment generally has threatened the operation and existence of small shops and local communities in neighbourhoods.