Eco-tourism usually involves people visiting remote areas. Some people think this will have a negative impact on local cultures and communities. What problems can result from eco-tourism? What measures can be taken to protect local culture and communities?

As environmental protection awareness rises, eco-tourism has become increasingly popular, while some people believe that this still has potential adverse effects on either regional cultures or societies. This depends on some factors, and in this essay, I will discuss the reasons and then describe the possible solutions to the problem in the following paragraphs. Although eco-tourism is aimed at helping local people and does not damage the environment, it still brings health and economic risks to the local community members. First and foremost, tourists from across the globe may carry specific diseases or viruses, which can be transferred by travelling and break the balance of native residents' wellness in sensitive areas. Take COVID-19 as an example, it spread easily by individuals moving from country to country, thereby leading some villages to disappear. To tackle this problem, the authorities should take responsibility for establishing health review institutions and thoroughly controlling the visiting tourists through physical checkups to reduce the risks of disease. On the other hand, economic impacts may happen and change the life patterns in particular places. That is to say, when large numbers of visitors arrive, they can trigger an increase in the cost of accommodations and goods, which may be too expensive for the residents, subsequently, making some remote countries' people suffer from severe living conditions. Therefore, to address this issue, managing market prices is crucial, the governments should implement related policies to maintain prices and offer financial subsidies. In conclusion, it is not always the case that eco-tourism is beneficial to every area, the travelling itself has some potential risks from extrinsic factors to mental influences, such as disease infections and life changes; hence, governments should put efforts into discovering and addressing these issues by making proper policy and actions.