It has been suggested that cars and public transport should be banned from city centres and only bicycles be allowed instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been recommended by some that cars and public transportation should be banned from urban centres. Alternatively, they propose that just bikes should be permitted in the area. In my opinion, this suggestion is not sustainable as it would not only make central urban zones less accessible for those who have limited motion but also would be laborious for those who use public transport to move across the city. Accessibility is one of the most vital aspects associated with a well-developed metropolitan area. With this in mind, when not allowing cars or public transport in the city's main location, the access of many citizens would be significantly limited. For instance, individuals with disabilities or aged people who can’t move their legs properly or walk long distances due to diseases would not be able to reach central facilities easily. Additionally, people with limited mobility may have difficulties riding bicycles, thus this alternative way of transport would not be effective for those groups. Despite that banning cars and public ways of transportation would help to ease traffic jams, a city centre is usually a key zone where public transport options are concentrated. This means that many citizens use public transport to move to different suburbs, hence prohibiting cars, buses, and trains, would make their lives harder. For example, in Sydney, a big metropolitan city, people from different suburbs travel to the centre to access buses and trains to other parts of the city when travelling to university or work. This is planned to make citizens ' travel journeys around other parts of the city easy and efficient. In conclusion, I believe that not allowing cars, trains, and buses in urban central zones, and permitting only bikes, is not an effective suggestion. This disagreement is because it would make city centres less accessible and public transport travel journeys more challenging for citizens.