In the past, buildings often reflected the culture of a society but today all modern buildings look alike and cities throughout the world are becoming more and more similar. Why is this the cause? Is it a good thing or a bad thing?

Presently, there is an increasing number of modern buildings being identical in all parts of the cities worldwide, while old-fashioned buildings symbolizing societal culture no longer exist, which derives from the international cooperation for global issues. This writer, however, believes that this would have a profound and adverse influence on nations’ traditional diversity. It must be acknowledged that the integration of cutting-edge building formations helps authorities solve many problems based on overpopulation and unemployment. This is especially so if population growth and the number of unemployed people place a serious burden on land and housing that only high-rise buildings, such as skyscrapers, can handle. As a result, more and more people own their accommodation and have an official occupation, whilst constructing more similar superstructures in the urbanizational era. Take China as a pertinent example, where most architectural styles are homogenized by state-of-the-art methods from foreign nations during the globalization period for working purposes and housing zones. Nevertheless, this phenomenon is detrimental to the variety of national cultures. Although some people agree with the erection of high-rise architecture, the majority of citizens desire to maintain a tradition that is distinctive from another community. If all of the infrastructures were identical to each other between nations, the culture would lack enhancement and richness, causing the disappearance shortly without any solutions to preservation. Vietnamese houses are prime examples, where the plenty of thatched cottages in the past do not exist anymore because of no conservation and made way for the fashionable and large building structures in the urban and willing to enlarge in the rural designated areas. To recapitulate, the circumstance of modern society improved by the innovative architectural building stems from international collaboration with the aim of dealing with the global populous problems. Nonetheless, spending money on these new building constructions brings a severe threat to the traditional variety.