The news media have become more influential in people’s lives, some people think it’s a negative development. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The role of the news media plays a vital role in shaping people's perceptions of the world. It is also undeniably true that the more persuasive the news content, the more easily people can be influenced. However, some people perceive such phenomena as negative developments. I strongly disagree with this view because the influence of the news not only raises one's awareness but also increases one's critical thinking skills. To begin with, the persuasiveness of the information crafted by the media may attract the public's interest to a great extent, resulting in more people becoming more aware of their surroundings. For example, recent news about environmental issues in my country, where there are so much deforestations going on, drives some people to take real action by not only voicing their opinion to prevent further impacts of habitat loss, but also creating a zero waste campaign and asking people to shift into a more eco-friendly product. With this in mind, such influential news media can foster people's empathy for their community, and in turn, positive solutions can be offered to the environment by the public itself. Another thing is that the necessity of media literacy and critical thinking skills in the digital age can discern credible news sources from biased or false information. In conclusion. the persuasive news media can have positive impacts to the people, such as raising awareness and improving the ability to think critically.