Education for young people is important in many countries. However, some people think that governments should spend more money on education in adult population who cannot read and write. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people believe that educating the youth is the top priority goal of any nation while others argue that state money should be channeled to reduce the rate of illiterate adults. This essay completely agrees with the latter initiative to better improve adult literacy because it will ultimately contribute to economic growth as well as benefit the next generations. To begin with, a decline in the rate of illiterate adults can offer countries obvious economic advantages. This is because while most white-collar jobs' minimum requirement is the ability to read and write, grown-ups who cannot meet such demand fail to get a well-paid job and usually opt for harsh unskilled manual work or stay unemployed to live off social allowance. Therefore, governmental efforts to wipe out illiteracy in the adult population will help improve the number of skilled workers and therefore accelerate productivity while sustainably lowering the budget spent on social welfare for these underprivileged people. For instance, in Ho Chi Minh, since 2010 the local authorities have spent a considerable fund on free classes and social projects to eradicate illiteracy among adult city-dwellers and by the year 2020, this city experienced the lowest rate of unemployment in the target population with more than 75% of them being able to get a stable job with a higher salary. Furthermore, policy on improving adult education is also thought to be beneficial for the beneficiaries' children. This is to say adults who are unable to read or write usually have low self-esteem and limited knowledge in raising their offsprings which might in turn hinder the children's development and education. For instance, a social study reports that children from this disavantaged disadvantage background are more likely to academically perform worse than their peers at school yet showing more signs of either sense of inferiority or rebellion. In conclusion, even though education for young people is crucial, it is strongly believed that state investment in lessening the number of illiterate adults would benefit both the economy and the beneficiaries’ children.