Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays, children spend their time on smartphones for hours every day. This habit can develop several impacts, both positive and negative. Although there are still some positive effects, these are negligible compared to the negatives. This essay will discuss why children really like to play smartphones excessively and the drawbacks that arise from it as well as evidence that supports it. Firstly, in the middle of this digital era, reliance towards smartphones is very high and it is so difficult to restrict ourselves from getting addicted to smartphones. For instance, children utilize their smartphones to learn, while they also have several games installed on them. In consequence, if they play their games all day long, they will get addicted without realizing that the games can establish bad characteristics in their personality. From my observation towards children around me, the one who plays smartphones excessively tends to be bad-tempered because they are too focused on their fictional worlds. Secondly, playing smartphone all day can lead to bad time management. Children who get addicted to smartphones, whether playing games or watching series, tend to forget everything else around them. For example, it is a common problem at schools, where many students forget to finish their assignments because they are too focused on binge-watching their favourite series. Clearly, it influences unresponsibility traits towards the children. In conclusion, excessive smartphone usage can have numerous negative effects on children's behaviours and children's educational progress. The more addictive some tools are, the more dangerous they will influence you. Despite of many benefits that smartphone provides, some strict restriction is a must to avoid the addictiveness of smartphones towards children.