Some people say that the current obsession with technology and the internet means that we are creating a generation of people that have poor social skills.

Nowadays, some individuals believe that the excessive use of technology and internet-based platforms is resulting in the emergence of people with poor social skills. In my opinion, spending numerous hours on the Internet-related technologies such as Facebook, Instagram, TikTok, online shops and etc. can have a wide range of adverse effects on people ’s social skills. It is my view that people who are constantly online tend to have poorer interpersonal skills. For instance, the people who are addicted to the Internet might fail to connect effectively with others. Thus, they are less likely to engage in various social events which hinders their ability to make new friends in real life and develop their communication skills. The deceptive nature of new technologies is another reason for isolation of people. In cyberspace, many people are not what they appear to be and this can discourage people from interacting with others in the society. These people decide to stay at home for most of the day due to a sense of inadequacy. In contrast, some people claim that modern technologies spread our communications. They firmly insist that utilizing new means of communication are capable of social skills enhancement. However, I do not find this argument convincing as the technology age has caused major problems in terms of our ability to communicate. These days, people find it difficult to visit each other and spend time outside of their homes. Consequently, their social friends are restricted by the online platforms which have been installed on their phones. In conclusion, I completely agree with the notion that extreme reliance on updated technologies can have detrimental effects on communication skills of people in society because the number of real-life connections is limited and people are often tempted by misinformation on social media. Indeed, these forms of technology are able to isolate people and keep them away from meaningful social interactions.