Walking is known to be beneficial for health and yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to tackle this problem?

These days, there are few people who engage in walking while it is known that walking is beneficial for human health. The reason behind this issue is that there are several other types of transportation which are much more comfortable and faster rather than walking such as private cars and public transport. To solve this problem, individuals should be informed about the benefits of this activity for their physical health and encouraged to engage in this exercise every day. There are certain factors why fewer and fewer people have opted to walk these days. One main reason is that some means of transportation like private vehicles and mass transport systems assist individuals to reach their destinations with high speeds and comfort. Many people try to quickly arrive at their jobs or studies every morning because they have little time for commuting between their homes and workplaces or universities. Therefore, they are likely to use these transport methods. The second point is that people may lose their energy because of spending many hours at work or school by carrying out different tasks. So, they may seek more comfortable ways to back to their houses and this routine can repeat every day without allocating time to walking. In order to overcome this problem, people should be informed about the advantages of going for a walk in the human body. For instance, teachers can raise awareness among their students about walking, and the government can arrange some informative activities covering this exercise and others in order to instil a sense of self-care in people. In conclusion, most individuals avoid walking because of other types of faster and convenient transportation such as independent cars and lack of energy and time. To tackle this issue, people should be enlightened about the merits of this activity for their health.