Poor nutrition and obesity is a problem in many developed countries, and some people believe that a tax on fast food would reduce the problem. Do you agree?

Presently, eating unhealthy food, which causes obesity, is a major problem in first-world countries. It is commonly argued that governments should implement more amount of tax on fast food in order to curb the problem. I think this can absolutely have a positive effect and would be more effective alongside other measures that I attempt to outline below. Imposing a tax on unhealthy food would decrease the number of people who consume such foods. Nowadays, numerous people, especially in developed countries, resort to convenience and pre-prepared meals because of their work times and busy schedules. Obviously, these are made with low-quality ingredients that are high in unhealthy materials, such as oil and salt. This might negatively affect the health and fitness of society members, creating many obese people suffering from different cardiovascular diseases such as coronary arteries and sudden heart attacks. As a result, taxing people more on fast food may encourage them to lessen their use, and at the same time, the raised money could be invested in the improvement of healthy food production. However, increasing the prices of such meals can be way more effective when the government educates individuals and also reduces the price of nutritious products. Firstly, increasing the awareness of individuals about the negatives of such diets would be of high importance. Without being persuaded, people wouldn't stop consuming junk food. So advertisements are needed to aware people of the implications of such diets. Following this, reducing the price of nutritious ingredients, which are produced through organic farming and free-range, without using pesticides and fertilizers, would significantly change individuals' minds, switching toward balanced diets. Therefore, education and decreasing the cost of healthy products would undoubtedly affect people to consume more of such produces. To summarize, obesity and the resulting diseases that are due to unbalanced diets and the usage of unhealthy ingredients are totally prevalent and common in this era in developed countries. However, steps could be taken by the governments to manipulate the cost of foods available, as well as increase the people's awareness, resulting in a smaller number of those who consume comfort food.