Some people want government to spend money on searching for life on other planets. However, others think it is a waste of public money when the earth has so many problems.  Discuss these two views and give your own opinion.

The standpoint of whether the government ought to invest funds in searching for life on other planets has long been controversial. opponents do not believe that this investment is necessary as the earth is still confronted with numerous issues. I am inclined to the view that both viewpoints are partly rational and it is the government’s obligation to ascertain whether they have the motivation to do so. firstly, from the perspective of the economy, searching for life in the universe will facilitate the advancement of related technologies. Some technologies may be equipped with the potential to be commercialized in the future. For example, in the context of the Cold War, two superpowers all spent considerable commitments in space exploration and part of these endeavours indirectly reshaped people's daily lives, such as progress in civil aviation and artificial satellites. This largely affects contemporary transportation and communication. without investing in life searching in the universe, the daily life of the public may not be as convenient as today. Hence, this investment has certainly shown its value. secondly, on the aspect of the government budget, it is impractical to implement the project assuming that there is insufficient financial capability for governments. there is no doubt that the majority of countries are not as wealthy as developed countries, which means blindly following this project may generate massive opportunity costs for a country. For instance, the investment in national infrastructures, social welfare and educational opportunities might be occupied by this project. searching for life on other planets will render a remarkable shortage financially. this implies government’s finances are misused to a certain extent, which further triggers a disadvantageous influence on all stakeholders. in conclusion, the government is accountable for assessing whether they have incentives and budgets to engage in this investment. in consideration of the imbalance that widely exists in economic development, it should not be mandatory for developing countries to embark on such a costly project