Formal examinations are the only effective way to assess a student's performance. Continual assessment, such as course work and projects, is not a satisfactory way to do this. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

One of the most recent trends of today’s world is the upsurge in formal exams are successful way to evaluate the pupil’s progress rather than continual assessment. There is a wide sprit of belief among people that this is a popular subject of debate. In my perspective, this statement has more positive impacts than negatives. In this essay, I will demonstrate the reasons. On the one hand, critics may point out some drawbacks. They might say that It can be stressful for certain candidates who face difficulties performing under pressure. For instance, some students are not interested in reading books and learning theories. Therefore, the easiest way to analyze their performances such through course works and projects. On the other hand, there are several arguments in favor of my stance. Mainly, Teachers can comprehend whether scholars have understood the lessons they taught end of the tests. Truly, it is the most predominant one, and it has many positive consequences in various ways. Secondly, It is hard to cheat during the exams due to the invigilator’s presence. A better example is IELTS. The IELTS exam is an effective method to demonstrate a non-native speaker’s English level since it takes specific venues and strict policies. Furthermore, youngsters can be motivated by conducting examinations for their future tasks. A good illustration of this is scholarship. If undergraduates pass the exam with high scores, they will have opportunities to get scholarships to study in overseas universities. In conclusion, although despite having some drawbacks, the benefits of formal examination to verify the student's skills are indeed too dire to ignore.