In many cities, young people prefer shopping as a form of leisure activity. Why do you think this happens? Is it a positive or negative development.

Shopping has been the most preferred pastime activity among youngsters in many cities, Majority of young individuals use these as their means of relaxation these days.In my opinion, the disadvantage of these trend exceeds the benefits it poses as it leads to loss of money and waste of time. This occurs as a result of social media influence, the quist to keep up to the latest fashion trend, peer pressure and social status. Firstly, the rate at which young people buy cloths and accessories nowadays has been on the rise as they want to keep up the fashion trend. Frivolous spending by people on material items such as smart phones, costumes and dresses lead to loss of money financial burden. Moreover, the advertisement by celebrities in movies and on television causes awarness of new items on the market and hence, the rush to ourchase them to change the wardrobe. Furthermore, peer pressure and social status is another factor for frequent shopping among young individuals. The need to keep up with with peers and maintain a certain social status drive youngsters towards impulse shopping. In addition, a lot of cities do not have recreational centers for leisure activity such as parks, clubs etc. which will help the youth to loose stress after a long day at work. Therefore, most people will prefer going on shopping trips with friends as means of spending their free time. To add to, technological advancement has brought about the availability of items on the internet. This makes it easy to buy goods online without going to the shop, Shein is a typical example. In a nutshell, shopping by young people in their spare time is fun but leads to financial loss and increase of peer pressure as they are influence to get those stuff because others have them. This will reduce when recreational centers are built in towns and cities to divert attention of youngsters to healthy activities such as cycling, walking or jogging.