As English becomes more widespread as a lingua franca , there is concern that the values and culture of the English-speaking world will displace native values and cultures. To what extent is this fear justified?

There is no doubt that English is becoming increasingly important as a language of international communication in fields of science, trade, entertainment and so on. So, people have the argument that whether English will alter a country’s nature. In my point of view, this fear is precise but I believe that people can manage to get rid of this situation. In this essay, I will outline what is the reason I think so. It is true that throughout human’s history, English is becoming enriched and steadily used almost every edge on earth, while some language is being died out, changed or even replaced. Even in the ancient Greek, hieroglyph was widely spoken but recently, it has already disappeared and only traces are left behind. In to some extent, this process may be inevitable. However, there are examples in many nations always trying to preserve their languages and even revive it under threat. Ainu tribe - Japan, for example, have been preserved by Japanese government policy on social media, propagating their specific, and so on. Language actually is one way of identifying a nation. This can help people be strong in adversity. Where this sense of identity and cohesion has been lost, for example in Malaysia, people are speaking only Malaysian, some can only speaking Indian or Chinese instead of having a language in common. This leads to problems: low self-esteem, lack of confidence, and lost of initiative. Retaining the language of a community often means that other forms of culture are exist and remained through: songs, literature, story and local traditions. Therefore, it will be passed down through generations. However, in the innovation society, English only serve to make human’s life becomes more convenient in trade, tourism and so on. However, it doesn’t bring any means in terms of tradition, culture and nature. To summarize, English plays a vital role in globalism to fulfill human’s demands. After all, it cannot replace any country’s value and culture because language displays a nation’s identity and tradition. In every country’s government also has had gradually high awareness of the importance of their language and tried to protect theirs from any thread.