In some countries, even though the rates of serious crimes are decreasing, people feel less safe than ever before. What do you think are the causes of this problem and what measures could be taken to solve it?

Citizens find themselves in danger although the number of aggravated faults are going down in many nations because we can hear more about the crimes from social media more than ever before and we started to see new types of crimes which cannot be prosecuted under current law systems of the countries. So as to solve this problem, I think investigation process should be improved and governments should make new laws which binds the offenders of the untypical crimes. One of the reasons behind the feeling of those people emerges from the information overload caused by media platforms. We are now able to hear certain wrong doings women and men face from simply scrolling down on applications we have on our phone and we usually focus on the act itself, rather than focusing on the result of it, such as the inprisonment or trial phase of the offender. This makes us think that someone is commiting a crime and walking away with it. The other reason of the worry of the citizens is new crimes that are not able to be subject to a criminal investigation because of the outdated law system in that country. Take data protection area, for example, before the last 10 years, nations did not have efficient and applicable law norms back then and a result of this, companies have sold our information to other entities and identity thiefs have stolen our personal data and made money from them. In order to make ones relieve, people themselves can try not to impulsively react to the information they saw on certain news platforms and search the consequences and final result of the crime because most of the crimes are being prosecuted and punished especially if they are known enough to heard by a person outside. To be able to punish the criminals who have made certain wrong doings, governments ought to have specific articles in their codes for those actions and those actions need to be searched and stated carefully. For instance, a comitee that identifies the new types of faults in the society can be established and with the results of their survey, governments can adopt new norms in their criminal codes to punish the offenders and as a result, individuals can feel more relaxed about the unpunished ones in the environment they live in. To conclude, even though the nations have less severe harrastment levels today, individuals still feel in danger because of the lack of data they consume from the social media about certain offends and the unnamed offences in the country. I believe with the implementation of laws that covers those acts and the effort of individuals about knowing more about the story they learn from media, citizens can feel more relaxed about the threat level in the area they live in.