some children spend hours everday on their smartphones why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

With advancements in technology and the increased availability of mobile phones, some youngsters waste a lot of their time watching screens, which is not a healthy trend.There are numerous reasons for negative inclination. First of all, the increased accessibility is the reason for excess use. This has accompanied the revolutionary change brought in twenty-first century in the digital world by the technical giants.These cell phones are accessible to everyone at a very cheap price. Also, these devices provide a variety of features like the internet, video games, app store where all apps are available free of cost, thus luring everyone to buy a good smartphone.People now have given it to children as well.In some areas of major cities, every child in a house above 12 years owns a mobile phone. Secondly, the parents have now become very busy with both the father and mother working to fulfil the financial requirements.They are unable to pay more attention to their kids and find it convenient to keep them engaged through gadgetry. Thirdly, fewer outdoor playgrounds and sports facilities have also contributed to the increased use of mobile apps. In addition, the smartphones offer videos and content for all ages to keep them involved. This is not a good development in general.It causes extra screen time which may affect vision. For instance, my nephew after spending a lot of time on video games, has now become dependent on the galsses for seeing at the age of just ten years. Moreover, it prevents the development of a family bond, with everyone at home being busy with online activities. Furthermore, there may be a tendency for violent behaviour in a child after watching the extreme content. In addition, boys and girls who fiddle away their time on various gadgets, become housebound and non-social with less actual friends and more virtual friends. Also, the misuse of technology has forced the youth to adopt a sedentary lifestyle and avoid playing outdoor games that may lead to numerous health problems like obesity, hypertension and diabetes. In a nutshell, children are spending their precious time on smartphones which is having disastrous consequences on society at large.