In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In some countries, super-fast trains are viewed as a necessity to be built to connect cities, while others think the improvement of existing public transport should be prioritized. I agree with the latter viewpoint as allocating the budget for enhancing the current public transport can lead to greater impact. I believe very fast trains are a luxury rather than a necessity, and there are just a few demographics who actually need one. The amount of money required to construct new railway lines is far greater than the amount needed to upgrade the existing facilities. As a result, the ticket price is expected to be significantly more expensive as well. Therefore, constructing this facility can only serve a minority of the total population. Focusing on existing public transport improvements can produce more positive outcomes. For instance, by increasing the capacity or the operation efficiency, people can benefit from cheaper ticket prices and also better convenience. In addition, with the lower expenses, it is possible to utilize the remaining budget to revamp the existing public transportation within each city. Therefore, the quality of both within and between cities commuting experience can be elevated. For most countries, I think, it is more crucial to ensure that the existing public transport facilities are optimized, so they can serve customers in the best way possible. The fast trains can be introduced later as they require more resources. These resources could instead be allocated to enhance the current transportation system, that more people would benefit from.