In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. To wht extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

The number of the general public suffering from health issues is increasing in several countries because of the consumption of an excessive amounts of fast food. It is argued that, a high tax should be imposed on these types of foods by the government. I completely agree with this viewpoint because imposing higher taxes will increase the expense of these food items and discourage people from buying. Implementing higher taxes on fast food will lead to an increase in the cost of fast food because if the companies have to pay a significant amount of tax in the fast food business the price of these foods will continue to rise. The continual rise in the cost of fast food will result in less amount of buying fat food by the public and if people consume less amount of fast food they will not suffer from diseases caused by fast food. For example, in the UK, imposing a high tax has reduced the amount of fast food by the general people which led to an improvement in public health. In addition, implementing a higher taxes on fast food will decrease the proportion of people taking the fast food business as a profession. This is because if people have to pay a lot of tax in this business they definitely will not be encouraged to run a fast food business. For example, running a fast food business in India is very expensive because of high taxes and a good number of fast food shops has been closed recently. Therefore, increasement of taxes can help to reduce the profit of fast food shops and people might change their professions. To conclude, depending upon fast food as a source of meals can be effectively controlled by the government if high tax can be imposed. It will reduce the consumption as well as opening the new outlet of fast food shops.