In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunities to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development? You should use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Before, students prefer studying in our country to overseas. Today, however, more and more people go to other nations for pursuing their diplomas. I will discuss both merits and demerits of this topic in the following paragraphs. On one hand, western countries such as the United States, the United Kingdom, Canada, and so on are much more advanced than my homeland. As a result, pupils are interested in that because they want to learn new technologies, knowledge, theories, and the like. The universities that are considered the best are usually located in those places. I believe it will be better if you go there to learn, and if you have a good job there, it will be nice, because the wages in those countries are extremely higher than in Taiwan. On the other hand, tuition fees are always high in those countries. If they come home for their careers, they probably can not pay back their student loans. For example, I used to work as a business analyst at Taipei Fubon Bank. I had co-workers who graduated from University of Wisconsin–Madison, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, University of California, Los Angeles, etc. I do not think my job's salary was good enough to pay for loans. In Taiwan, people who studied in other nations may not find a great job, because most companies pay less. Furthermore, it is a big challenge if students want to find a job in the places they studied in. Either way, they have to face the difficulties of seeking jobs. In a nutshell, I only studied at the nearest university, and I have worked with the colleagues who have elite universities' degrees. Therefore, I do not think going abroad for education is a good decision. They not only have to give money for tuition fees but also have to spend money on the cost of living. The money will be a huge burden for youngsters if they choose to do that.