Some people get into debt by buying things they don’t need and can’t afford. What are the reasons for this behaviour? What action can be taken to prevent from having this problem?

In modern society, purchasing items is no longer related to necessity; it has become a status symbol and a leisure activity. Consumers are not buying things according to their needs but to show society the lifestyle they have. Even if, their finances do not allow it, they end up taking loans at high interest rates. Therefore, all these unnecessary purchases leave them in heavy debt. Compared to recent years, now the public is more exposed to the worldwide markets through e-commerce which has made it highly convenient for customers to buy products around the globe. Easy return policies, heavy discounts and easy instalments convince the individual to get products. For instance, popular video games that are out of stock at local stores can easily be bought online and that too at great discounts. Moreover, people especially youngsters get easily influenced by their peers who have high-quality gadgets like expensive mobile phones, and branded clothes. Hence, inventions in technology have transformed the way people do shopping these days. In order to avoid financial issues, one has to be mindful in making shopping decisions. Individuals have to understand their requirements and make purchases accordingly. If something is out of pocket, its necessity should be cautiously calculated. For example, if someone wants to buy a car, he should consider his bank statements while choosing the car model. There is no need to buy an expensive brand if the low-budget one is serving the purpose. Mindful shopping is important today. To conclude, as discussed in the aforementioned statements, society and online shopping trends are the main reasons for this issue. However, if a person is able to understand the difference between a need and a wish, debts can be avoided.