In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an age oh population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits of society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays average lifespan was highly increased and people now live longer than they used to. It is evident that elderly people can be a problem for the government, but at the same time society can benefit from an ageing population. Nevertheless, merits of having an older population definitely outweigh demerits. On the one hand, having elderly people can bring out obvious drawbacks. Firstly, they are in need of high expenses. Their retirement might last 30 years, which would result in the country’s budget. As a result, less money could be spent on other spheres those are in need of an upgrade, such as medicine, education, environmental projects and other social needs. Secondly, as people live longer, the space for new borns lessens. For instance, due to this reason in China each family can have only one child at all, because there are even no space for more children. On the other hand, there are some key advantages that exceed disadvantages. It is undeniable that mostly elderly people are really smart because through the life they studied large amount of information. Consequently, if the elderly people live longer, more younger generations could be taught with a lot of knowledge that elderly people have. Also, an ageing population is very wise. So, in case if young people are in need of someone’s help, they will be better to ask for a piece of advice to an ageing population because it will be meaningful and valuable because of their great experience and wisdom. In conclusion, while there are some pros and cons of having elderly people, advantages definitely outweigh disadvantages, especially in terms of communications between generations and providing society with knowledge.