In the age of digital communication and social media, face-to-face interactions are becoming less common. Some people think that this is decreasing people’s ability to communicate well in person. Do you agree or disagree with this view?

Today social networking sites are an integral part of human lives. These receive an overwhelming response from netizens as a result face-to-face interactions are becoming less common. Many humans believe that this will dwindle the ability to effectively communicate in person. In this essay, I will discuss why I disagree with the aforementioned notion. Excessive use of digital communication tools leads to ineffective communication. Numerous cases are reported by the victims when people face dilemmas to converse properly. It is found that their screen time is way higher, particularly when utilizing social sites, but these are exceptional cases and can not be considered as a precedent. For instance, a case study carried out by the University of Peshawar students illustrates that only 1 per cent of cases where people have speech challenges are related to those who spend extended hours in front of screens to talk with the community. Thus, virtual applications deteriorate communication in person and are totally a baseless idea. Conversely, digital solutions are vital for interactive conversations both physically and virtually. Organisations are opting for these after observing an increase in productivity at the workplace. For example, organisations were occasionally using digital communication tools before the coronavirus. When the pandemic broke across the world, businesses took these tools into consideration and it was found that they were missing something impressive which can contribute a lot to narrowing down the gap between workforce at the workplace either way. Hence, these tools are rather much more productive for intellectual discourse. In conclusion, this essay discusses, that even though sometimes people may hesitate to talk in person due to heavily relying on social sites, these are quite handy in terms of productivity. I entirely disagree that these can affect our communication skills.