Some people think that the media, such as newspapers, should be allowed to publish information about people’s private lives. Others, however, think that there should be controls to stop this media from providing this kind of information. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Although some people argue that media channels should have the right to publish personal information about people's lives, others disagree with this perspective. In my opinion, governments should implement strict policies that aim to protect people's privacy, as publishing private information can negatively impact them. This essay will discuss both viewpoints before presenting my position. On the one hand, releasing private information about people is financially beneficial for the owners of the news companies. For example, celebrities' personal updates can increase the platform's viewers, resulting in a massive financial profit. This illustrates the reason behind the request made by news companies to allow them to publish this kind of news. On the other hand, people's privacy should be protected with strict regulations that deter any violator from publishing such news. One key reason for this is that exposing private information can be dangerous for people's security. For instance, releasing the home address of a football player can influence the fans to go there which will bother the player, and in some cases, it can make the player feel unsafe. Therefore, publishing personal information should be banned, as it can lead to serious consequences for some individuals, especially celebrities. In conclusion, despite people having different viewpoints, I tend to believe that the authorisation to release private information should never be given to the media sector because of the potential risks that can be imposed due to such information. In addition, controlling news channels can be done with governmental assistance only; therefore, implementing strict laws can be affective in limiting these kinds of violations.