Nowadays there is more and more competition for getting into university. Is this a positive or negative development?

A notable development has been growing throughout the countries in recent years – more individuals are aiming for their personal goals and achievements instead of collective interests. Although various opinions stem from this trend, I believe that it is highly disadvantageous. To begin with, individualism lets people feel challenged to integrate into society. To be specific, it often results in a lack of togetherness and increased selfishness. Thus, it makes individuals feel lonely. To illustrate, when people solely focus on their own tasks and situations, they are likely to excel in their fields: however, they lack a sense of belonging. Moreover, they do not know how to communicate with others, or how to solve group problems. Hence, only concentrating on their personal rewards or aims is dangerous as it is a driving force behind decreased communication skills and togetherness. Furthermore, the nation should never neglect the value of collective interests as they are beneficial to mental health. It is undeniable that collective mindset brings a sense of belonging which is a key point of living a harmonized life with others. For example, we are living in a very socialised world with various people and thus, we need to learn how to communicate with each other. Having collective thinking helps to improve social skills and secure emotional stability. Also, a notable study conducted by Korea University revealed that possessing a sense of togetherness is firmly favorable to preventing mental illnesses such as dementia. Therefore, nations should be collective instead of being selfish. To conclude, although endeavouring people’s personal goals and ambitions can be positive and negative at the same time, I believe that the bad impacts override the merits. Hence, we should avoid being individualistic.