Some countries achieve international success by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think it is a positive or negative development ?

In contemporary times, several nations prefer to build various specialised sports infrastructures to train their elite athletes rather than provide public ones to their citizens, which helps them to gain global achievements. This essay attempts to shed light on the merits and demerits of this trend before concluding that I am in favour of the latter notion. On the one hand, it is understandable why country authorities subscribe to establishing special training centres for their professional athletes. First and foremost, it could enhance countries' images. For example, with carefully prepared practice, skilled sportsmen could take part in international competitions as well as achieve high positions, which could allow the participants to introduce their countries and cultures to the public. Furthermore, investments in modern sports facilities could help the country's economy. This is because they are basic and compulsory requirements to organise famous international sports events such as the Olympics and World Cup, which could attract millions of visitors to travel to that country, thus, earning huge profits from accommodation, transportation, and event tickets. On the other hand, there are a host of compelling reasons why I am convinced that the government's focus on developing special sports buildings might bring some profound drawbacks to each household and the entire society. One rationale is that it could decrease the quality of inhabitants' lives. For instance, an increase in the budget for expensive projects means a lower allocation for public sports sites, which might lead individuals to lose their workout habits and face serious health problems. Another justification is that the enormous costs incurred to build gigantic facilities could put a strain on government coffers, thereby leading to budget deficits, tax hikes, or reduced social welfare. As a result, ordinary citizens, especially the underprivileged, might struggle even more to make ends meet. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that the establishment of professional sports infrastructure might have advantages to certain extents, I would contend that the downsides of this phenomenon are more significant.