Many people think that every individual is responsible for their happiness, but people believe there are other external factors that influence us. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Contentment is obtained from various sources and each individual has different ways to reach it. Some people argue that joy comes from within, while others agree that it is caused by external factors. This essay will discuss both statements and why I side with the former. On one hand, our surrounding plays a significant role in navigating our moods and feelings as we are social creatures, which have uncountable touch points with other beings. For instance, a girl is utterly bothered by a lawnmower noise from her neighbour in the morning, hence she feels unhappy and irritated. This proves how something that has no direct relation to us can be so influential to our delightfulness. Thus, the environment plays a pivotal role in one's life, which can boost or decrease our level of contentment. Nonetheless, our personal pleasure should come from the inside as we are the ones who have the power over ourselves. For example, there is a famous philosophical belief named "Stoicism", which teaches everyone to ignore things that are out of our authority and focus on the aspects within our control. Consequently, this way of thinking leads society to put ourselves as a focal point without wasting too much energy to be bothered by unchangeable events. To summarise, our environment can be the reason why we are joyful, yet it is our responsibility to control how we react to certain conditions. Hence, the personal effort to focus on ourselves and lead our own happiness offsets the impact of the external facets.