Many things which were done in the home by hand in the past are now done by machines. Does this development bring more advantages or disadvantages?

Chores which used to be done manually are now completed by dishwashers, food processors and electric sewing machines. While this trend benefits individuals and society in the short term, it has negative long-term repercussions for the planet as a whole. On the one hand, the process of mechanization in the home undoubtedly saves time and human energy. Overworked and exhausted adults no longer have to worry about tedious tasks, such as doing the laundry or doing the dishes. This means they can enjoy themselves and spend quality time with loved ones.Women in particular reap the rewards as, in former times, they tended to be responsible for most of the laborious housework.They now have the opportunity either to work and become economically independent or to socialize, instead of scrubbing floors or chopping vegetables. On the other hand, the popularity of these products has unwanted environmental consequences. Machines including vacuum cleaners and washing machines are made using nonrenewable and relatively scarce resources. When used, they are powered by large quantities of electricity, which is often obtained by burning fossil fuels. This obviously causes an increase in carbon dioxide and other greenhouse gasses in the atmosphere. Furthermore, as these items are deliberately designed only to last for a limited period, they soon have to be replaced and are thrown into landfill sites, which puts additional pressure on the ecosystem. In conclusion, although we should not ignore the positive social and economic impact of the increasing use of modern appliances in the home, this trend is contributing to the depletion of natural resources and pollution.