In many countries, the government prioritizes economic growth above all other concerns. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this.

In many nations, governments put more focus on improving their economies than other sectors. Although residents’ earnings will increase, I personally believe that the prime drawback outweighs the main benefit as this will cause environmental pollution. One major benefit of prioritizing economic development is that it will solve the unemployment issues and significantly increase the number of employed citizens. That is to say, countries, where their economies are growing, require substantial workforces to produce sufficient supplies of goods in order to meet markets’ demand. As a result, more and more citizens are in employment. Moreover, this will also offer citizens a better quality of life. This is because when economies are growing, governments will gain more taxes from trading and can spend them on welfare, substantially contributing to facility constructions such as hospitals, bridges, and educational infrastructures. On the other hand, focusing only on economic development results in serious environmental damage. This is totally because manufacturing processes generate CO2 and other detrimental emissions, sewage, and industrial waste which are released into the environment and cause air, water, and soil pollution. Furthermore, industrial pollution will negatively affect people’s health by causing respiratory diseases as well as some types of cancer. Take an example, a recent study concludes that most of the CO2 emissions come from industrial plants, leading to lots of photochemical fog which could be sometimes seen in cities. In conclusion, while prioritizing economic development will result in an increase in employment and a better quality of citizens’ lives, the serious downsides that come with this are environmental pollution and residents’ health.