Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

It is widely contended that more and more people having sickness spontaneously use medicines and treatments method without doing health check in the hospital. While this has admittedly certain benefits, I would argue that this is a fairly negative trend because its demerits are far more pronounced. On the one hand, it is understandable why people with health issues are trying alternative medicines without advice from doctor. Perhaps the foremost benefit of this choice is that it may quickly help the patients to deal with some normal diseases. For example, there are a couple of slight symptoms, such as: nose congestion, cough or fever under 38 degrees Celsius, which could be treated by some kind of medicines bought in pharmacy stores. In fact, many individuals have been successful with this treatment method, so they keep doing it in the next time when they get sickness. On the other hand, I am convinced that the aforementioned advantages pale in significance when compared to the drawbacks of using medicines without agreement of doctor. The prominent disadvantage is that if people predict wrong disease based on their symptoms, this will be extremely harmful to their health condition. For instance, the first expression of Covid-19 pandemic is running nose or headache being quite similar to that of flu. Therefore, in this case, the patient eating medicines at home without medical check-up could make their illness more serious. In conclusion, trying medicines without direction of doctor when having sickness is quite negative, because its benefits are significantly overshadowed by the drawbacks.