In many countries today, crime novels and TV crime dramas are becoming more and more popular. Why do you think these books and TV shows are popular? What is your opinion of crime fiction and TV crime dramas?

Nowadays, entertainment in books and on television that is about criminal conduct is one of the most popular genres around the globe. This essay discusses what in my view are the reasons behind this phenomenon and presents evidence to support my contention that this may not be a healthy trend. There are several reasons why I believe crime TV series and books are increasing in popularity these days. Firstly, they usually provide exciting storytelling and unexpected plots. This is because the narrative often involves solving mysteries, and therefore, viewers feel intrigued to know the turn of events. For instance, the Dexter TV show had a huge audience throughout many seasons due to its interesting plot and excellent casting. Additionally, viewers often feel more motivated to consume crime stories that were inspired by real crimes. This may be due to their curiosity regarding what has happened and, sometimes, their excitement at discovering that the story is real-life-based. From my perspective, there are two reasons why I do not think this genre is good for people's mental health. The reason for this is that it may have a negative psychological effect on viewers' minds. Since many stories are based on real life, individuals can feel shocked and mentally ill after seeing violent and bloody scenes. For example, the recent true- crime series hit called The Bear has received many reviews saying that people felt too horrified by watching scenes, which made them feel uncomfortable and sometimes depressed. Moreover, consuming too many crime stories may affect individuals' confidence to go out of their homes and attend to their daily routines. This may be due to them losing trust in others since anyone could be a psychopath or a serial killer, for example. In conclusion, the reasons why I think many people from different countries are interested in consuming crime stories lately is because of the stimulating scriptwriting and the curiosity of knowing how true crimes have happened. However, in my opinion, crime films and novels should be consumed with caution since they may trigger people's psychological traumas and reduce one's trust in others.