Psychological illnesses may not be as obvious as physical disabilities or illnesses. Nevertheless, they are just as disabling in their own way. Society, however, is more accepting of those with physical than psychological illnesses or disabilities, The latter being regarded as a taboo subject sometimes. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Nowadays, some people are suffering from mental disorders which sometimes would not be seen as illnesses like physical ones by society because it is not apparent to people. Even someone hesitates to discuss this subject. I agree with this statement and I will demonstrate why psychological disease is invisible and why people feel disabled when they get sick in mind. Some experts agree that mental illnesses are hard to define by initial observation which is why people could not recognise whether they or their loved ones are sick mentally. Because the study of psychology is pretty new in the industry and has just been studied for the past few decades compared to other medical research. In order to diagnose it, patients have to complete tens of questions and should talk with their doctors for hours. Even though they are diagnosed as sick, in appearance, they look like a normal individual due to the fact that they just feel pain inside which is invisible and unfeelable by others. As mentioned earlier, crowds may not look at this illness as a visible disease, but individuals who experienced it, feel pain a lot as same as an injury. Therefore, such patients should be considered as disabled as they are unable to work and study or even live as much as ordinary people. For example, people sick mentally tend to isolate themselves from their friends and family and be incapable of making decisions and feeding themselves. As such, a significant amount of support, care, and time are needed for treatment. To conclude, however, psychological diseases are not considered illnesses in the body such as injury and heart attack, the consequences of this must be accepted as harmful diseases within the community as it is new and hard to identify at first glance.