Some people think that with the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, people lose the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think that with the increasing use of mobile phones and computers, people lose the ability to communicate face to face. To what extent do you agree or disagree? It is argued that the surge in phone and computer use is leading to a decline the people ’s abilities to communicate. In my opinion, the surge of modern technology devices cannot facilitate interpersonal communication. On the one hand, the opponents consider that the ability of interpersonal communication loss is due to the following reasons. Firstly, the invention of Facetime can fully substitute the face-to-face conversations. Because of the improvement of technology, the technology devices enable people to distinguish subtle facial expressions. Moreover, emojis can convey emotions that are hard to express through texting. Messages do not always capture accurate feelings, therefore, the emergence of emojis can illustrate emotions vividly. On the other hand, I believe that Face Time and emojis do not capture an individual’s feelings. First of all, FaceTime cannot convey complete human emotions. Hiding behind a screen means that only a fraction of body language is visible, which could lead to misunderstanding. Secondly, the use of emojis as substitutes for genuine feelings is limited. In many circumstances, people will use emojis to decline conflicts to be polite or avoid embarrassed. Therefore, the emojis cannot convey a genuine feeling. In conclusion, I believe that the surge in phone and computer use can weaken interpersonal communication skills, as neither Facetime nor emojis can comprehensively convey human emotions.