In some parts of the world traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. What problems is this causing? What measures could be taken to counter this situation?

All around the world, many cultural festivals, celebrations including a lot of religious and non-religious events are disappearing day by day. In my opinion, this contributes to issues concerning cultural disintegration and should be intervened by citizens alongside with assistance of the government of a particular country. The main issues resulting from abandoning traditional festivals concern culture. More commercial holidays such as Christmas and Black Friday are gaining in popularity which naturally threatens smaller cultural groups and their festivals. For example, in China there are numerous ethnic groups living in remote areas that struggle to preserve their traditions over time as locals learn more about the outside world and leave their hometowns. As these groups disperse further, both results may impact the stories they hand down through generations, their language, traditional dishes and other aspects of culture. The optimal remedies for the weakening of traditional cultures are for governments and individuals to actively encourage traditional festivals. Governments can make the greatest difference. For instance, states could fund organizations that aim to promote traditional festivals by staging local events and reaching out to older members of the community. Younger people could likewise attempt to engage more with their roots and connect with the sources of their culture. This occurs to some extent already when traditional festivals are advertised on social media to bring in wider audiences and greater attention. In conclusion, the loss of folk events is a boon to globalization and injures the cultural identity of various groups. This development must be confronted by locals of their own individual initiative and encouraged by governments.