In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In contemporary society, taking a gap year after matriculating has become increasingly prominent. Hereby, some nations encourage adolescents to see the world so that they can discover themselves, while some argue that the job market is too competitive not to get a degree immediately. Personally, I strongly advocate the latter. Although, this essay aims to explore the benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon. One notable benefit is the unparalleled convenience it offers various aspects of self-discovery. For example, psychologist Martin Johnson found that a person cannot truly understand which career path to choose at the age of 18, as the mental brain is not fully developed at this stage. Moreover, it is vital to learn adequate life skills, interpersonal desires, and self-interests before deciding on a career path; all which can be obtained from travelling or working for a year after high school. Therefore, it is essential to acknowledge that this trend could be beneficial. Despite this, I believe it is paramount to get the upper hand in modern society's competitive workforce. For instance, a study at Harvard University found that only 55% of people actually decides to enrol at a university after a gap year. Thus, individuals who decides to postpone enrolments can often find themselves in a conundrum after a year when alternative options might have opened up in the meantime. Hence, taking a year off after school requires self-control and might result in unemployment when older. In conclusion, it is evident that taking a year to learn about yourself is advantageous, however, I believe it is imperative to start focusing on a career path as soon as possible to ensure job security in the future. If more students decide to get a degree later in life, then they might find themselves in a situation where they never actually get a degree or proper job in the foreseeable future.