Topics:Crime & Punishment Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both of these two views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Many people are convinced that understanding the issue behind a crime and the prime motivation must be taken into consideration while deciding the punishment for the crime. However, I strongly opine that there should be a decided punishment for a felony. In this essay, we will discuss why I support the latter. On the one hand, if there isn't a decided penalizing structure for each felony committed; as a result, lawyers and criminals will try to escape the committed crime by expressing a fake reason for committing it. However, Motivation does matter; therefore, in rare cases, it is up to the judge to decide the reason behind doing something illegal and evaluate the circumstances. To cite an example, A recent report published about murders in the Times of India says that 17 percent of the cases happen as an act of protection. Therefore, In some cases, the final call must be evaluated by the judge. On the other hand, Having a decided law helps save court time. As per Hindustan Time Journal, the criminal cases filed in the high court take around 5 years in India. Thus, having a fixed law will help to reduce the argument time and lead the issue towards a conclusion. In the same way, The Indian penal court has too many cases; thus, reducing the time taken for each trial is significantly important. From my perspective, having fixed penalizing norms helps save time and leads the case to justice faster, Consequently reducing the time of the judicial system. Thus, I am in the support of the same